Searching for Creative Utopia During the Pandemic

Artist and musician Jihae meditates on her journey with racism and sexism in the entertainment industry

Jihae
#StopAsianHate
Published in
6 min readJun 1, 2021

--

Save As / Medium; Photos courtesy of JIHAE

Spring came late this year, tiptoeing between cold showers and premature summer heat. Feeling the warm sun on my skin and mRNA running through my blood, I dream of brighter days ahead. Living in purgatory for over a year, we’ve had a lot of time to reflect and question everything including our changing climate, our police force and even our identities. Now that summer is around the corner and the lockdown a near forlorn memory, I wonder where we’ll go from here.

Do we really want to go back to the “normal” that came crashing down on us? Or will we find our way to shift the imbalances in our socioeconomic structures and ecosystem towards a more harmonious norm for every living being?

The best thing that came out of the lockdown for me was my consistent yoga and meditation practice which helped me realize the need to understand myself better and have more clarity in my purpose. I began Carl Jung’s prescribed inner journey to gain deep insight into myself.

Reckoning with your inner self is not quite like doing selfies; it’s a strangely unpleasant and resistant form of introspective surrender. I’ll be the first to…

--

--

Jihae
#StopAsianHate

Actress/Musician & Founder & CEO of Septem Music for Production.