Illustration by Save As / Medium; Source: Getty Images

The Term ‘Asian American’ Has an Impossible Duty

Lam Thuy Vo
#StopAsianHate
Published in
6 min readMay 11, 2021

--

I’m not Asian American. I’m a German citizen, born to Vietnamese immigrants. You could say I’m an Asian in America, though I most often feel like an untethered foreigner who’s just gotten really good at nesting.

When I first immigrated to the United States, though, I was often assumed to be Asian American. And with that, I was assigned a culture that I didn’t recognize from my upbringing in Germany or even from having lived in Hong Kong and traveled across Asia for work. It’s a culture that America itself seems to have trouble figuring out.

The concept of “Asian American” was always a little foreign to me. This phrase was assigned the impossible duty of encapsulating the experience of people who once hailed from a continent that contains so many multitudes.

Though the term has largely become affiliated with largely a subset of that population, excluding countries like Russia and often centering around East Asians, it’s worth noting that about two-thirds of the world’s population, or roughly 4.16 billion individuals, live in Asia…

--

--

Lam Thuy Vo
#StopAsianHate

Journalist. German-born Vietnamese nomad who tells stories using data, visuals & words info@lamivo.com